McDonald’s, Seven Legendary Individual Inductees Headline 64th Advertising Hall of Fame®

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The 64th Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies & Gala Dinner will be held the evening of Monday, April 29, 2013, in the Grand Ballroom of New York's historic Waldorf=Astoria hotel.

Chosen by the Hall of Fame’s distinguished Council of Judges, this year’s “magnificent seven” who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame are:

Rance Crain, President, Crain Communications and Editor-in-Chief, Advertising Age

Bob Giraldi, President, Giraldi Media and Film Director

Philip H. Knight, Co-Founder and Chairman, NIKE, Inc.

Shelly Lazarus, Chairman Emeritus, Ogilvy & Mather

Byron E. Lewis Sr., Founder and Chairman Emeritus, UniWorld Group, Inc.

Gerry Rubin, Co-Founder, RPA

Bob Scarpelli, Former Chairman and Chief Creative Officer, DDB Worldwide

And for the fourth year in a row, a corporation will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.  The 2013 corporate honoree is the iconic global organization, McDonald’s. The award will be accepted by Don Thompson, President and Chief Executive Officer.

“Being inducted into the AAF’s Advertising Hall of Fame is a tremendously exclusive honor reserved for highly accomplished individuals who have had a profound impact on our industry and the world around them over the course of their truly impressive careers. This year, our selection committee had the difficult but rewarding job of narrowing down an unmatched field of deserving candidates to reach our final slate of seven inductees. Looking at their collective career accomplishments and the difference they’ve made in so many people’s lives is both incredibly motivating and truly inspirational,” said Laurence Boschetto, President and Chief Executive Officer, Draftfcb, and chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame.

The Advertising Hall of Fame is administered by the American Advertising Federation.  The event will be made available as a live simulcast exclusively to the American Advertising Federation’s nearly 200 local ad federations, with a potential audience outside the Waldorf’s Grand Ballroom of tens of thousands of advertising leaders nationwide.

AAF president & CEO James Edmund Datri added, "Like the AAF, this year’s inductees represent all aspects of the advertising industry from clients to agencies to media to production companies across the country. And we are extremely proud to recognize McDonald's as this year’s corporate inductee for their extraordinary impact on the industry, their unwavering commitment to community service, and for their universally recognized global strategy that has made them an American and global icon."

For more information on the Advertising Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies & Gala, please contact Lisa Rubin, VP, events and corporate services at or at (202) 898-0089.

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association, and the only association representing all facets of the advertising industry, is headquartered in Washington, D.C., and acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF also has 15 district operations, each located in and representing a different region of the nation. The AAF’s membership is comprised of nearly 100 blue chip corporate members comprising the nation’s leading advertisers, advertising agencies, and media companies; a national network of nearly 200 local federations, representing 40,000 advertising professionals, located in ad communities across the country; and more than 200 AAF college chapters, with over 6,500 student members.For more information, visit