ADVERTISING HALL OF FAME MEMBERS

1949 - Rollin C. Ayres, Cyrus H. K. Curtis, Alfred W. Erickson, William H. Johns, Lewis B. Jones, Theodore F. MacManus, Edwin T. Meredith, John Irving Romer, Walter A. Strong, John Wanamaker 1950 - F. Wayland Ayer, Stanley Clague, Benjamin Franklin, James H. McGraw, Merle Sidener 1951- William Cheever D'Arcy, E. St. Elmo Lewis 1952 - Erma Perham Proetz, J. Earle Pearson 1953 - Samuel C. Dobbs, Charles Coolidge Parlin, James O'Shaughnessy 1954 - Frank Presbrey, John E. Powers 1955 - Henry T. Ewald, George Burton Hotchkiss 1956 - None elected 1957 - Herbert S. Houston, Claude Clarence Hopkins 1958 - Orlando Clinton Harn, Albert D. Lasker 1959 - Merlin Hall Aylesworth, Kerwin Holmes Fulton 1960 - Allen Loren Billingsly, James Randolph Adams 1961 - Barney Link, Harley Procter 1962 - Mac Martin, Donald W. Davis 1963 -Gilbert T. Hodges, Paul B. West 1964 - Homer J. Buckley, Edgar Kobak, Jesse H. Neal 1965 - Robert M. Feemster, Samuel C. Gale, Harrison King McCann 1966 - Lee Hastings Bristol, Walter Dill Scott 1967 - Ernest Elmo Calkins, Stanley B. Resor, Helen Lansdowne Resor, George P. Rowell 1968 - Russell T. Gray, Charles W. Mears, Alex F. Osborn 1969 - Bruce Barton, Thomas D'Arcy Brophy 1970 - Don Belding, Laurence W. Lane, Graham C. Patterson 1971 - None elected 1972 - Leo Burnett, Ralph Starr Butler, Philip Livingston Thomson 1973 - John P. Cunningham, Bernard C. Duffy 1974 - James Webb Young, Raymond Rubicam 1975 - Fairfax M. Cone, G.D. Crain, Jr., Artemas Ward 1976 -William Bernbach, Victor Elting, Jr., David Ogilvy 1977 - John Caples, George Gallup 1978 - John H. Crichton, Barton A. Cummings, William A. Marsteller, J. Walter Thompson 1979 - Atherton Wells Hobler, Neil Hosler McElroy 1980 - Tom Dillon, Roy Larsen, Shirley Polykoff 1981 -Ted Bates, Charlie Brower, Bernice Fitz-Gibbon 1982 - Paul Foley, Alfred Seaman 1983 - Clarence Eldridge, John Elliott, Jr., Howard J. Morgens, Owen Burtch Winters 1984 - Thomas B. Adams, James S. Fish, Charles H. Sandage 1985 - Donald A. Macdonald, Samuel W. Meek, Arthur Harrison Motley 1986 - Carl W. Nichols, Arthur C. Nielsen, Sr., Raymond J. Petersen, Robert W. Woodruff 1987 - Eugene H. Kummel, Edward N. Ney, Vance L. Stickell 1988 - Sidney R. Bernstein, Robert V. Goldstein, Ray A. Kroc 1989 - James E. Burke, Raymond O. Mithun, Jean Wade Rindlaub 1990 - Carl J. Ally, Sam R. Bloom, Philip H. Dougherty 1991 - Richard C. Christian, Theodore S. Repplier, Neil H. Borden 1992 - John S. Bowen 1993 - Ralph Carson, Charles T. Coiner, Rosser Reeves 1994 - Ira C. Herbert, John E. O'Toole, Michael J. Roarty 1995 - Edwin L. Artzt, William M. Backer, Howard H. Bell, Thomas S. Murphy 1996 - Jo Foxworth, Morris L. Hite, William E. LaMothe, Frank L. Mingo 1997 Gertrude Crain, Alex Kroll, Paul Schrage 1998 - Jay Chiat, O. Milton Gossett, Joyce C. Hall, Marion Harper, Jr., John E. Kennedy, Burt Manning, Leonard Matthews, Frank Stanton, Janet L. Wolff, Lester Wunderman 1999 - Bernard T. Flanagan, Stanley Marcus, Mary Wells Lawrence 2000 - Reginald K. Brack, Peter A. Georgescu, Patricia Martin, William S. Paley 2001 - Katharine Graham, Charles D. Peebler, Jr., Hal Riney, John Smale 2002 - Hall "Cap" Adams, Jr., Phil Dusenberry, John H. Johnson, David Sarnoff, Dave Thomas 2003 - Karl Eller, Philip H. Geier, Jr., John E. Pepper, Liener Temerlin 2004 - Thomas J. Burrell, Roger A. Enrico, Harry Jacobs, Ted Turner 2005 - Robert L. Johnson, Donald R. Keough, Henry R. Luce, Al Neuharth 2006 - David Bell, Vincent T. Cullers, Roquel "Billy" Davis, Bruce Gordon, Arthur Ochs Sulzberger, Stuart B. Upson, Bob Wehling 2007 - Andrea Alstrup, Marcel Bleustein-Blanchet, Alan Pottasch, Keith Reinhard, Allen Rosenshine 2008 - Jack Avrett, Charlotte Beers, Chuck Fruit, Clarence Holte, Don Logan, William "Bill" Sharp, Bob Wright



Advertising Hall of Fame

1101 VERMONT AVENUE NW, SUITE 500 WASHINGTON, DC 20005-6306

61 ST ANNUAL

Advertising

"If we can see further, it is because we stand on the rungs of a ladder built by those who came before us."



CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

CRITERIA FOR ELECTION

Eligible candidates are those individuals who have completed their primary careers, who have distinguished themselves in those careers, who have contributed to the betterment of advertising and its reputation and who have made volunteer efforts outside the workplace.

NOMINATIONS

The Council of Judges considers the election of either living or deceased persons from the United States or abroad whose record of advertising and service significantly enhanced the advertising industry in the United States.

Candidates not elected will be considered automatically for selection for two additional years. However, additional nominations or supporting data on behalf of these nominees may be submitted in any year.

The Council of Judges will consider only candidates who have been formally nominated in accordance with the following rules:

- Nominees must be retired from their primary career for a minimum of 12 months.
- Each nomination must include a description of the significant contributions the nominee has made to the advertising process. In what ways was this contribution innovative? How has it impacted the advertising process over time?
- Each nomination must include a description of the nominee's contribution to the betterment of society outside his/her business career.
- Each nomination must include the official nomination form.
- Each nomination must be typed and double-spaced.
- Supporting recommendation letters are accepted.
- No illustrations, speeches, books or samples may be included.

Sample nominations of Advertising Hall of Fame members are available upon request. You can submit your nomination online at www.advertisinghalloffame.org/nominations

Nomination deadline: November 9, 2009

COUNCIL OF JUDGES

The Council of Judges is chosen annually by the president of the American Advertising Federation and chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame. Judges are selected for their knowledge of the history and personnel of the advertising industry.

All nominations are presented to the Council of Judges, who make their selections by secret ballot. The election of candidates is made at the discretion of the Council of Judges, who may choose not to make a selection in any given year.

AWARD PRESENTATION

The induction ceremony and luncheon honoring the newly elected candidates will be held at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City on March 2010.

Upon induction, each honoree receives a "Golden Ladder" trophy signifying membership in the Advertising Hall of Fame. This trophy, designed by the late Bill Bernbach, carries an inscription created by the late Tom Dillon, both of who are members of the Hall of Fame. The inscription reads: "If we can see further, it is because we stand on the rungs of a ladder built by those who came before us."

The American Advertising Federation maintains the Advertising Hall of Fame on behalf of the entire advertising industry.

For more information, contact Dee Dee Swartz at the American Advertising Federation, 1101 Vermont Avenue NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005; Phone: (800) 999-2231; Fax: (202) 898-0159; E-mail: dswartz@aaf.org; www.advertisinghalloffame.org.

Advertising Hall of Fame is registered by the AAF with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

61ST ADVERTISING HALL OF FAME NOMINATION FORM

Candidate's name		Current age
Title and business affiliation		
Current address		
Phone	Fax	E-mail
Years of activity in advertising business		
Nomination submitted by		Submission date
Title		
Address		
Phone	Fax	E-mail

Nominations must include this form. Nominations may be submitted using one of the following methods: • online at www.advertisinghalloffame.org/nominations

• via fax at (202) 898-0159

• via mail at AAF, Advertising Hall of Fame, 1101 Vermont Avenue NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005

Nomination deadline: November 9, 2009